The Mission of Whole & Sound

Hello, friend! Do you feel fragmented or out of balance? Overwhelmed by life’s demands? As one of my favorite authors put it, “sort of stretched, like butter scraped over too much bread”?

Are you longing for a more whole, well-rounded, balanced & vibrant life?

You’re not alone. It’s SO good to meet you. My name is Jasmin, and welcome to Whole & Sound.

In a nutshell, the mission of Whole & Sound is to promote health, balance, and maturity in every area of life.

If you are seeking more balance in your life and longing for a more fully vibrant existence, I invite you to join me. I am embarking on a journey to accomplish just that.

Why Whole & Sound?

With the dawn of 2018, I closed not just a chapter, but a rather biggish book in my life story. 2017 was a huge year for me, with milestone after milestone falling like dominoes in rapid succession: I studied abroad in May, got married in July, graduated with my B.A. in Communication in December, and got hired for my first full-time job.

And with the joy of becoming a Free Elf, there is also the weighty responsibility of learning how to seek excellence, how to become whole and sound, in every area of my life.

That’s EVERY area.

To be honest, I like focusing on the areas I’m good at.

And I don’t like facing the areas where I’m failing.

But I also need to be diligent not to neglect the areas in which I am weaker (exercise, anyone?).

Over the last few years, I have messed up a lot. I’ve neglected balance. I have failed friends. I’ve failed to take care of myself. (And so I caught pneumonia and almost got hospitalized. Oops.) I have failed to cultivate my relationship with God. I have overemphasized some areas to the neglect of others.

But my walk with God ought to encompass loving Him with my whole heart, soul, mind and body… that includes loving Him in my relationships with my dear husband, family and friends, loving Him in how I work, loving Him in how I treat my body, loving Him through the hobbies I choose, loving Him in how I give back to my community… every area of my life is a space to cultivate the beauty of the glory of God.

And I believe the truest and fullest human flourishing is accomplished when we love God with everything we ARE and everything we DO. God created us, after all – He knows how we thrive best! His commandments are for our good, out of His deep, deep love for us.

I want to thrive, don’t you? I love how Casting Crowns puts it:

“We know we were made for so much more
Than ordinary lives
It’s time for us to more than just survive
We were made to thrive.”

I long to be a stronger, graceful, more vibrant and balanced version of myself. I want to become a strong, gorgeous oak tree that can weather the fiercest of storms.

I believe adulthood is a holy and noble calling. And as I learn how to “adult” better – how to grow in balance, dignity and maturity – I want to share with you, dear reader, the strategies, insights, tools and lessons that help me the most.

My hope and prayer is that you may also be encouraged and heartened for your next steps towards whole, sound maturity in heart, soul, mind and body.

I invite you to join me on my journey towards balanced, vibrant worship and wellness in every area of life, learning better every day how to love God with our whole selves.

Rooted

Let’s learn to thrive together.

XO, Jasmin

Leave a comment